My Spoken English Experience!

A Bit of Storytime for you.

So, Just a month ago, I realized that my English speaking is getting worse. And I mean in terms of spoken English. I was not able to translate my thoughts into English words whenever I was trying to speak! And I realized that I should do something about it.

But Me being Me, I completely ignored the idea of actively doing something about it and instead I thought I would start watching more English shows.

But the matter of fact was that I consume English content only. So, there was something much worse than I was thinking. Well, How can Spoken English be Improved by just listening and watching English content? You see As the wise men said, "the more you practice the better you get". But that quote does not apply here.

So, I completely ignored the idea and went along with my life. Until a call happened.

So, This call was really an eye-opening experience for me. So, I had this call, I picked it up and it was from somewhere I registered for the course in peer pressure. The caller or operator I should say! was talking to me in English, asking me various questions about my interests and what I know. But halfway through the conversation, I realized that the operator was trying to sell his product. But I was not interested in it. But the more questions he asked me, the more powerless I felt! And by the end of the conversation, I had made the promise to buy the product I didn't even want. Well, How lucky can you be, right?

After the call Ended I was so frustrated with myself and how easy it would have been if I didn't feel powerless and I realized that I need to take English Speaking seriously now.

I certainly don't want to feel like that again. And thus began my journey to get better at English Speaking.

I am still on that journey, So I cannot advise much. But I know a few things that worked for me and that made me realize my problem so I will share those now.

Tips!

  • If you don't watch English content then at the very beginning just start watching it. Start with subtitles in the beginning and after a few weeks start trying without subtitles. The more you listen the better

  • Now, when you start getting comfortable with listening to English then start the following routine.

    • Take some time out of your schedule to watch YouTube Shorts, I won't recommend YouTube videos cause they are at least 10 minutes long and you might not be able to remember everything. So start with YouTube Shorts

    • Now browse for some informational shorts, like some podcast shorts or any short that provides you with some information or a story

    • Then after the short ends, pause it, open the recorder on your phone, and start explaining the clip to yourself in English, try to make it like you are conversating with someone else.

    • After you record it, hear what you should have changed, you should be good at this now, As you have been listening to English for some time now.

    • Look for words you could have changed any grammatical errors or anything.

    • Record it, do this until you get satisfied with the recording, and then keep repeating this until you have time with different shorts.

  • Another thing you could do is Take a YouTube video, where the speaker is speaking in English and repeat every sentence the speaker has said, Pause the video after each sentence and repeat it exactly like the speaker. This will help your mouth to get used to the accent to say the words and you will get accustomed to speaking English, the more you speak the more you will get comfortable doing it.

  • The last thing you can do is, whenever you get time, look around yourself like when you are traveling and whatever you are seeking just talk about that with yourself, try to make short sentences in the beginning then go on to making paragraphs, and then to conversating about that thing.

These were some things that helped me speak English more often and fluently.